Living history on the beautiful North Cornish coast. Since its completion in 1592 the same family have lived in this charming Elizabethan manor. Take a tour of the house or stroll in the tranquil grounds overlooking the ancient deer park.
Apart from the appeal of its architecture, notably a remarkable plaster ceiling, and the glorious views across its ancient deer park to the distant outlines of Brown Willy and Roughtor on Bodmin Moor, Prideaux Place is much prized as an Elizabethan manor house still lived in by the family for whom it was built.
The Prideaux family acquired the estate, previously owned by the Prior of Bodmin, at the time of the Dissolution of the Monastries. The present house was completed in 1592 by Sir Nicholas Prideaux. Two major additions have been made to the house, first in the 17th century by Edmund Prideaux on his return from the Grand Tour and later by the Rev Charles Prideaux who was much influenced by Strawberry Hill Gothic.
Having survived the Elizabethan, Georgian and Victorian eras, today’s exciting restoration programme aims to return these beautiful gardens to their former glory. Now with the help and advice of Tom Petherick, who was an integral part of the restoration of the Lost Gardens of Heligan, much clearing and new planting has been undertaken.
http://prideauxplace.co.uk/ Phone: 01841 532411 Satnav: PL28 8RP